Changing My World, One Dream at a Time

As we witness or participate in an extended weekend of celebrations surrounding the life and dream of the late Martin Luther King, Jr., I have decided to use this auspicious time as an opportunity to embark upon realizing one of my many dreams – becoming a published writer and book author (in other words, a public commentator on my life and observations of the world around me).

From that MLK to this one, dreams have the power to change the world – but only when expressed openly and made a reality.  I don’t profess to have all the answers, be an expert on a specific topic, or speak for a particular group.  But I am someone who has gained a bit of wisdom from the few ups and downs I’ve experienced.  I’ve been blessed with a big, loving family who has supported me in everything I’ve attempted to do or succeeded at doing.  And, above all, I feel this call upon my life to do more and BE more in the remaining time I’ve been given on this earth.

One of my most favorite books is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho – not because it’s often referenced by celebrities or carries a high level of clout in the world of bestsellers.  The Alchemist is a favorite of mine because its story is simple yet deep in meaning and serves as a constant reminder for me to follow my heart and live out my dreams (in spite of and in the face of fear) until they become reality.

Most often we feel like our dreams can only be accomplished after we’ve reached some magic milestone – a certain graduation, birthday, marital status, or amount of money.  However, anything is possible if you work at it little by little, step by step, day by day, week by week, month by month for however long it takes.  Martin Luther King, Jr. was a man who did just that, knowing the “Rome” of equality and civil rights couldn’t nor wouldn’t be built in one day.  And so, he preached and persevered, wrote compelling letters and speeches, led marches and movements day by day, week by week, month by month… all the while calling upon others near and far to join him in stepping to the beat of that distant drum.  Ultimately, his dream was made reality, and we all have benefited (to whatever degree we’ve chosen to) because of it.

So, with that said, I invite you along on this MLK’s journey to change my world (and the larger one) little by little, step by step, day by day, week by week, month by month… one realized dream at a time.

Leave a Reply

