Book of the Month: Hair Story by Ayana D. Byrd & Lori L. Tharps

Book(s) of the Month: January - Mornings in Jenin February - Hair Story

Book(s) of the Month: Mornings in Jenin (winter read) and Hair Story (February read)

As you all know, prolific reading makes you a better writer.  So, in addition to realizing my dream of becoming a published writer, another one of the challenges I gave myself at the start of 2015 was to bring my inner “bookworm” back to life.   To do that, I established a Goodreads account last weekend and set a personal goal of reading (at least) 10 books this year… essentially, one book a month not counting January and December.  To hold myself accountable, I will share with you each month my chosen book, how I came to select it, and a summary of what I learned from the previous read.

To be honest, I did commit myself to participating in a friend’s “community/common read” program over winter break, which then turned into January and now February.  But, with the book firmly in hand, it’s better to start late than never at all!  So, this month I’ll be playing “catch up” by reading Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa (my promised “common read” book) and the revised and updated version of Hair Story: Untangling the Roots of Black Hair in America by Ayana D. Byrd and Lori L. Tharps (my February read in celebration of Black History Month).

Lately I’ve had the most insightful conversations surrounding the topic of hair – hairstyles, hair textures, and the reactions it all can draw from coworkers, friends, and the general public.  Therefore, I will definitely be reading these books in reverse order, and later this month, write in more detail about a few of my own hair experiences.  I mean, as we all know, the more natural (and naturally confusing) the style, the more attention (wanted and unwanted) we attract.

But, until the next time, peace.

Leave a Reply

