DJ Lady Luck Presents… Rapsody

Oooooooooooooooooooooohhhh, what a beautiful Wednesday!

And happy June 2017, everyone!  This is your girl, DJ Lady Luck, here to usher in a new month by spotlighting music to get you moving and motivated!

Today, I’m bringing to your airways an eastern NC artist full of heart, talent, and commitment!  I’m talking about Rapsody, the female emcee who gained mass public attention in 2015 due to her feature on Kendrick Lamar’s “Complexion (A Zulu Love),” from his highly-acclaimed album To Pimp a Butterfly.

But, I came to know of her later that year by way of Indy Week, a free weekly publication for the Raleigh/Cary/Durham/Chapel Hill area.  I saw her – unknown to me then – on the cover of an August issue and decided to snag a copy to read… which I didn’t get around to until much later in the week.

Oddly enough, while working in Raleigh that summer, I made it a weekly habit to drive through NC State University’s campus to catch a bit of the vibe there.  One August afternoon, I had to adjust my route due to a couple of blocked streets but could still hear what sounded like an outdoor concert just getting started nearby.  Then, after a moment of contemplation, I came to the conclusion the road blocks and party sounds were part of the university’s welcome week celebration to kick off the new academic year.

Coincidentally, Rapsody – the very artist featured on that newsweekly cover and an NC State graduate, by the way – was one of the headlining artists for that “back to school” concert I almost got an earful of on my detoured way home.

Serendipity… at its best!

Which brings me to my double play for the month – “The Drums (ft. Heather Victoria, The Soul Council)” and “Crown.”

“The Drums” is one of those jazzy smooth grooves you can just bob your head to while soaking up the message of the words being spoken.  I admit – this was my first YouTube Rapsody find once I finally put two and two together that August day.  And it quickly became one of my favorite video replays that fall.

Here’s Rapsody performing “The Drums,” featuring Heather Victoria and The Soul Council (2012):

Next up, I’ve got a newer release from Rapsody – part spoken word, part rap, but all knowledge!  And with June being the high school graduation bookend to May’s college/university commencement season, the timing seemed right to send out this artistic piece of encouragement and pride to all those crossing stages, accepting diplomas and degrees, venturing into that next great chapter in their book of life… and for the younger generations seeing it all happen before them!

Here’s Rapsody letting us know “whatever you dream, you can do” in “Crown” (2016):

And, lastly, some words to inspire you to have a purpose and live in it… from the artist herself:

“I love music and I love hip-hop, but my purpose is to be a role model,” she explains. “I want people to know that you can be the girl next door and still be dope, still be sexy. I might not be doing cartwheels in money or driving fly cars, but I’m making a difference in this world. That gives me strength. I have a purpose, and that’s what it is.”

-Rapsody, as quoted from the Indy Weekly article “Microphone control

And on that note, I’m out!

Peace,

DJ Lady Luck

Leave a Reply

